A Day in Geneva

There are some areas of Geneva that feel a little claustrophobic with narrow side streets and small enclosed squares.  The old town is full of narrow cobbled streets.

1 BIG fountain! on Twitpic

On the flip side, there are plenty of wide open spaces. The promenade along the Lake Geneva shoreline is very relaxing and wide enough to feel that bit detached from the city itself.  All along, there is the ever-present spectacle of the Jet d’Eau.The water in the lake is surprisingly clean and clear. I was looking for fish and was pleasantly surprised when I saw some.

Lunch in Switzerland...  on Twitpic

Geneva gets my seal of approval for fantastic coffee and even better food. I have never ever spent so much on 1 meal in my life and it’s not something I intend to repeat in a hurry but I can say, hand on heart, that it was well worth it!

The city also has the honours of…

  1. being the city where the International committee of the Red Cross was founded by Henry Dunant in 1863; &
  2. giving its name to the Geneva Conventions.

Apologies for the poor picture quality. These are off my camera phone as my compact camera battery was flat by this stage of the trip.

Leave a Reply

