Wedding Fayres are an Eye-Opener

Oh my {insert your preferred deity here}!!!!!!

We went to the Wedding and Lifestyle October 2010 event at the Great Yorkshire Showground in Harrogate at the weekend.  The showground itself is massive but the event was relatively easy to find even with a smart-a%@e for a parking attendant.

Inside hall 2 were a myriad of stands and small business owners plying for trade, thrusting business cards and pamphlets at us, accosting us for contact details to put on their mailing lists “…for all the latest offers”, etc.  Under any other circumstance, I would be saying “I’m just browsing, thanks!” but I think I was just too gob-smacked by it all.  There were service providers there offering stuff that no bachelor would EVER dream of when organising a wedding.  Who’s bright idea was it to tie up the napkins with ribbon?

Eventually, I did get to chat with some “normal” people like the heavily pregnant florist from Ripon and the self-confessed would-be bridezilla photographer.  It was a little disheartening telling people like this that we’d already sorted whatever they were trying to sell.  Thinking about it now, I should have taken their business cards and given them a mention here.  I’m ALWAYS doing that; some of my best EUREKA moments arrive 48-ish hours late!

As for the rest, the catwalk show could’ve been a lot more polished to get the maximum effect.  As it was, it came across as cheesy. The “man creche” was empty; it just didn’t appeal.

For brides-to-be, I think events like this are a must.  For virgin grooms-to-be, I would say the same thing but for a different reason.

Leave a Reply

