Writing a Groom’s Speech and More Ring Shopping

The wedding rings are ordered. The look of glee on the jeweller’s face when we went back to Fattorini’s! She must be on some kind of commission. They’ll take a few weeks to be made. Then a quick check to make sure they fit before being inscribed. What with, we’re not sure yet.

I have no idea what’s being organised for the stag do. It’s all gone suspiciously quiet in my inbox.

Quite a few RSVPs are still outstanding even after the requested date. If you do get a wedding invite, please, on behalf of your hosts, return the RSVP as soon as you can and definitely before the requested date. It’s a slow torture coming home each evening to 1 or 2 replies, sometimes none for days.

Apparently “Thanks for coming – you’ve been a right laugh!” is not enough as a groom’s speech so I’ve done some reading and prep. work. The good news for me (and probably for everyone else too) is that it’s expected to be fairly short – about 5 mins. – and the structure is prescribed:

  1. thank everyone for coming and playing their part;
  2. say a few words about getting wed; &
  3. introduce the best man.

Easy! Even I can manage that I think.  I’ll post my speech’s framework after the big day.

The most exciting thing that’s happened recently for me is booking accommodation and a hire car for the honeymoon.  I’d opt for putting together a bespoke holiday any day over a travel agent’s package so we’re really looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

