Got Your Music For The First Dance Sorted Yet? My Advice Is Start Thinking About It Straight Away!!

Otherwise, you’re almost guaranteed to have to make a snap decision at the last minute. And snap decisions are never the most comfortable to make.

I gathered all the recommendations I could find on the internet into one long list and then went through it meticulously. It was easy to rule out about 90%; there were some strange recommendations. The rest took some time to decide on but we whittled it down to…

  1. All Of My Life – Diana Ross;
  2. Always – Atlantic Starr;
  3. Crazy For You – Madonna;
  4. Don’t Know Much – Linda Ronstadt & Aaron Neville;
  5. Endless Love – Diana Ross & Lionel Richie;
  6. Forever and Ever, Amen – Randy Travis;
  7. From This Moment – Shania Twain;
  8. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You – Van Morrison;
  9. I Swear – All-4-one;
  10. If Tomorrow Never Comes – Ronan Keating;
  11. My Girl – The Temptations;
  12. On The Wings Of Love – Jeffrey Osborne;
  13. Open Arms – Journey;
  14. The Power Of Love – Jennifer Rush;
  15. There You’ll Be – Faith Hill;
  16. Three Times A Lady – Lionel Richie;
  17. Tonight, I Celebrate My Love – Roberta Flack & Peabo Bryson;
  18. Unchained Melody – Righteous Brothers;
  19. Up Where We Belong – Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes;
  20. Waiting For A Girl Like You – Foreigner;
  21. When I Need You – Leo Sayer;
  22. When You Say Nothing At All – Ronan Keating;
  23. The Wonder Of You – Elvis;
  24. You to Me Are Everything – Real Thing; &
  25. You’re The Inspiration – Chicago

With hindsight, I might have approached this task from the wrong angle. I think the starting point should have been to look at our combined music collection and find the common elements we both share. Having said that, it wouldn’t have led us to the song we eventually choose…

Amazed – Lonestar

I’m also aware of the irony that I too have just added another recommended list to the internet.

Leave a Reply

